COVID-19 Updates: We will be CLOSED through at least July 31. Learn More

The Virginia Discovery Museum is a resource for all children of our community. Children learn best in an inclusive environment where our differences are celebrated. As it has done for the past three decades, VDM will continue to serve the interests, needs and abilities of children of all backgrounds. We are committed to enabling our community's youngest members to play and learn together in a joyful, safe, and loving environment.

Support VDM

Staff & Board

Museum Staff

Janine Dozier

Executive Director
(434) 977-1025 x101
director@vadm.org

Beth Solak

Executive Director
(434) 977-1025 x101
vadmexecutivedirector@vadm.org

Lindsay Jones

Director of Operations
(434) 977-1025 x102
operationsdirector@vadm.org

Matt Berman

Marketing Manager
(434) 977-1025 x103
marketing@vadm.org

Megan Smead

Education Manager
(434) 977-1025 x106
megan@vadm.org

Frankie Szynskie

Education Manager
(434) 977-1025 x105
frankie@vadm.org

Rowan DeLoach

Birthday Party Manager
(434) 977-1025
rowan@vadm.org

Emily Yu

Saturday Front Desk Manager
(434) 977-1025
emily@vadm.org


Board of Directors

  • Shannon Banks, Co-Chair
  • Katrina Callsen
  • Chris Cullinan
  • Chris Heins, Co-Chair
  • Lila Heymann
  • Ashley Howard
  • Andrea Hubbell
  • Julie McClure
  • Jessica Phillips, Vice Chair
  • Kennedy Prentiss, Secretary
  • Arthur Rogers
  • Jill Simandl, Treasurer

Contact Us

Can’t find the answer you’re looking for? Visit the Contact Us page to find out how to best direct your inquiry or call (434) 977-1025 to reach our general line and speak with a staff member.